Review: Tony Moly Milk Tea Morning Pack (Primer)

Hello humans!

And we’re back with another review! Before we start, I need to tell you something about lip stains (haha). When you’re testing out lip stains, MAKE SURE you remove the product properly and immediately. I got too lazy to remove it in store, so it stained my hands for a few days. Not to mention, one of the products gave me an allergic reaction after! So now I have random bumps on my hand. I honestly can’t remember which one it was, but it was a product from Sephora. So yes, just be careful.

IMG_20141120_101616311
Today’s product is a primer that I got on the suggestion of my friend, and I’ve been using it for around 2 years. I know! We shouldn’t be keeping products for that long, but seriously, this is how long this thing lasts! Not even close to finishing it either!

 

Formula: gel texture, dewy finish, caffeine scent, moisturising, fast absorption

IMG_20141120_101635735

This primer hydrates and smooths out those dry patches, while priming your face for foundation/BB cream. When you start blending it into your skin, you will feel a cooling sensation and the gel breaks down into a slippery, watery texture. By then, you should tap it into your face to allow your skin to absorb the moisture. Can this be used as our daily moisturiser? My answer is “No”. As this is a primer, its main function is to create a slippery film to allow base products to blend in easily. If you use this as your daily moisturiser (day and night), the film will block your pores and cause acne. The moisture is just added into the primer, so that you don’t have to reach for your lotion before applying foundation. Milk Tea Morning Pack is great for people in a rush, as it also absorbs quickly.

I would not recommend this product for those hot and humid seasons because it does cause more oil production, BUT it works great during the dry seasons.

 

Ingredients: Available on CosDNA

 

Price: $15-16 CAD in store

I got this at a Korean beauty store back in the day for $16. The Tony Moly store at Pacific Mall also sells this but in different packaging.

 

Packaging and Amount of Product: Fancy Cup or Minimalist Squeeze Bottle

Source: plazacorea.com
Source: plazacorea.com

I got lucky and bought this in the fancy cup version. It came with a small container of moisturiser to mix into the big cup with the metallic stirrer. It was so fun~ When I walk into the Tony Moly store now, it seems that they got rid of the fancy packaging for a simple squeeze bottle instead. Maybe the packaging got too expensive? Some of you might be sad that the novelty is gone, but the bottle does appear to have a lot more product in it. 🙂

 

Overall: 4/5

Overall, I would rate this a 4 out of 5. For those days when my face feels crappy, this primer helps to better prep my skin for makeup. However, for my skin type, I do not need a primer everyday. The other reason why I’m not giving this full marks is because the cup version isn’t very sanitary. I noticed some flakes of dust in it. This is probably why Tony Moly opted for the squeeze bottle packaging. So if you’re looking for a moisturising primer, I say check this one out! For $16, you get quite a bit of product. 🙂

Thank you all for reading! Stay warm, everyone! I can’t believe it’s snowing in NOVEMBER!!!

P.S. Do you currently use primer or do you opt out of it?

Leave a Reply

