(Updated) Review: Motives Cosmetics Waterproof Automatic Eye Pencil

Hello humans!

I hope you’re having a good weekend! Today I have a review of a Motives Cosmetics product that I bought from my friend. Heads up, I am NOT sponsored by Market America nor Motives Cosmetics to do this review. I bought this with my own money, and will provide my honest, personal opinion.

Motives Cosmetics is a company started by Loren Ridinger (one of the founders of Market America) with the mission of empowering women, and providing them with quality cosmetics at affordable prices. Motives also has an instagram, so you can check out more of their products there.

Screenshot 2014-11-30 at 12.35.44

Here is the review of the Waterproof Eye Pencil in Black (ME 100)~

motives

Formula: Creamy, Smooth, Smudges on oily lids

IMG_20141130_114015878

IMG_20141130_114030883

Not only do I have oily lids, but I have have mono lids! I should’ve known that an eye pencil wouldn’t work out. Within a couple hours of application, it faded from my upper lid onto my lower lid. With a primer and powder, it lasted a bit longer. So if you have oily lids or monolids, I do not recommend this product because it is not smudgeproof. If you’re blessed with non-oily lids, this pencil will provide smooth and pigmented application.

Update: With primer and powder, it lasts a few hours longer. It won’t last the whole day if you have oily lids. So I use this pencil when I’m only going to be out for a few hours, and if I’m not doing any strenuous activity.

Packaging: 2.5 grams of product

motives2I like the packaging. It feels sleek. On one end, you have a retractable pencil so you don’t have to sharpen it. On the other end, you have a brush to smudge out lines for a smokey eye look.

Price: $16.27 CAD ; $15 USD  + Shipping

Where to buy Motives Cosmetics products: 

I say check out their eyeshadows instead since they get such rave reviews. Their eyeshadows also seem to be the best sellers of their brand. I’ve seen Youtubers show off their massive palettes. O.O You can buy this with my friend as your shop consultant in case you have any questions. The Canadian site is ca.shop.com/queeniel . The American site is www.shop.com/queeniel .

Overall:  Me and my oily lids: 2/5      Normal lids: 3.5/5? 

This is not one of Motives’ best products. Despite its waterproof claim, it is not waterproof. If they didn’t claim it as being waterproof, my ratings would be higher.

Tomorrow I will have a review up for their Dual Blending Sponge ($15-16), which is a dupe for the $35 Beauty Blender! Stay tuned! Thanks for reading!

Let me know if you’ve tried other Motives products! If they’re good, I’ll get more when some of my stash runs out!

One thought on “(Updated) Review: Motives Cosmetics Waterproof Automatic Eye Pencil

Leave a Reply

