Updated Review: Motives Cosmetics Dual Blending Sponge

Hello humans!

As promised, here is my review of Motives Cosmetics’ Dual Blending Sponge. I bought this from my friend as a dupe for the Beauty Blender. Mind you, I haven’t tried the original but I can provide my opinion of the Motives’ version.

sponge
Source: motivescosmetics.com

 

 

The size of the sponge is a little bit bigger than the above image size (approximately 2 inches tall). When dampened with water, it doesn’t expand like the beauty blenders that I’ve seen on YouTube. This means that it doesn’t become softer until a couple of weeks later after wearing it out.

So here are the pros and cons:

Pros: Easier to blend foundation than a brush; Provides a sheer and natural finish when dampened; Decreases cakiness; gives your skin a glow

Cons: Doesn’t expand, Firm rather than soft

 

Price: $14.04 CAD

For $14 CAD, I can’t really complain because I did get what I paid for. In contrast, the original Beauty Blender is a whooping $35. I guess it depends on your preference. If you don’t mind something a bit more firm, then the Motives one should be fine. Just remember that there is a flat shipping cost ($10.50 CAD).

 

Where to buy: 

You can buy this from my friend as a consultant if you have any questions at shop.com/queeniel  or ca.shop.com/queeniel .

 

UPDATED RATING (2016): 2/5

I used to like this but it was causing broken capillaries on my cheeks because the sponge itself was too firm even after dampening. When dampening a beauty sponge, you’d expect it to soften and expand in order to deliver slightly dewy and naturally blended out foundation. However, the Motives sponge was too firm. Therefore it didn’t blend out foundation as comfortably, and because it didn’t expand either, it wasn’t as easy to blend out foundation.

The blending sponge from Quo, at Shoppers Drug Mart, costs less than half the price (at $6) and performs much better. I’ve never tried the Beauty Blender myself, but with Quo’s quality, I’d assume that it’s almost comparable.

What other Beauty Blender dupes have you tried out? What were they like? I like to read all of your comments! Thanks for reading and have a great week!

 

Disclaimer: Again, I do not work for Motives Cosmetics nor Market America. I just bought this from a friend and am providing my opinion on it.

One thought on “Updated Review: Motives Cosmetics Dual Blending Sponge

Leave a Reply

