Review: Tony Moly Yolk Primer

Hello humans!

And we’re back with a review of Tony Moly’s new product: Yolk Primer. I was originally looking for their Egg Pore Silky Smooth Balm which had really good reviews for mattifying and blurring pores! Unfortunately they didn’t have it in store, and when I asked the sales associate about it, she kind of gave me an indirect answer. So from what I understood, the company may have reformulated and repackaged it into the Yolk Primer? The thing is…some things are better left untouched.

IMG_20150121_095000813

Formula: Moisturizing, Mattifying, Clear Gel

I wanted to find a primer that would blur and mattify my enlarged pores on my t-zones (forehead, nose, cheeks). The Yolk Primer was able to mattify those areas while moisturizing them, but I did not notice much blurring action. They didn’t really reduce the appearance of pores for me. If only they had the original Egg Pore Primer, which was great at doing both, that would have been great.

Ingredients: 

IMG_20150121_094945079

Price: $15 CAD

For 25mL or 0.8oz, this product is expensive! If only it performed as greatly as it claimed, every penny would have been worth it.

Packaging: 

This product comes in a slim, yellow squeeze bottle. Usually I have no issues with squeeze bottles, but this one is made out of stiff plastic. When you squeeze it, you don’t really get a sense of how much product is coming out. So you get the occasional, “Gaaah! Too much! Too much!”

Overall: 3/5

Overall, it’s not a terrible product. It didn’t break me out, clog my pores, nor did it cause my foundation to slide off. It just didn’t really blur my pores like a pore primer is supposed to do.

P.S. If you do visit the Tony Moly store at Pacific Mall, make sure to do your research on what you want before going. If you don’t speak Korean, there’s going to be a language barrier.

Thanks for reading! So the moral of the story is, if you do happen to come across a golden egg (literally) named Egg Pore Silky Smooth Balm, PICK IT UP for you might not see it again…

4 thoughts on “Review: Tony Moly Yolk Primer

  1. It’s too bad this primer didn’t work out! Especially when I have heard the same marvelous things about the original Egg Pore Silky Smooth Balm you’ve mentioned. I also quickly looked into it and it does look like that balm has been discontinued (like many other Korean products 😦 )

    Like

  2. TonyMoly actually still makes the Silky Smooth Balm! I work at a TonyMoly in the U.S., and we still carry it. It’s also still listed on the TonyMoly Korean website.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

