Review: Holika Holika Petit Jelly BB Cream SPF20 PA++

Hello humans!

Today I’m reviewing the Holika Holika Petit Jelly BB Cream in the shade Light. Holika Holika is a Korean cosmetics brand famous for their cute and “princess-y” image and packaging. Here in North America, it would be considered more of a “drug store” brand. This low to mid priced BB cream is really popular amongst girls and young women today for its price, cute packaging, and good coverage. So I wanted to test it out for myself to see how it fares~

IMG_20150221_155218119

IMG_20150221_155237136~2

Formula: Jelly Texture; Matte Finish; Quick to Dry; Light to Medium Coverage; SPF 20 PA++

IMG_20150221_155258188

In its bottle, the BB cream is like a bouncy jelly- similar to a partly gelatinized Jell-o. Once applied on the skin, it feels like a regular BB cream. You also have to work with this pretty quickly, as it dries fast into a matte finish. This is good for people with normal to oily skin, but not so great for those with dry skin. Thus, I’d suggest working with a damp sponge in sheer layers OR just work fast! Lastly, like most BB creams, this one provides light to medium coverage and SPF. Usually Korean BB creams have a SPF of 30, but this one falls under at 20. So make sure to wear your sunscreen underneath.

IMG_20150303_103458475_HDR

IMG_20150303_103551749_HDR

IMG_20150303_103644070_HDR

Ingredients: Contains parabens and aluminum.

IMG_20150221_155315452

Packaging and Price: 40mL/ 1.35 oz for $20-26 CAD 

This product comes in a frosted glass bottle with a spatula attached to the lid to provide ease of usage. It also comes with a sponge in the box. I bought 40mL of this product on sale for $15 CAD at Myeongdong Beauty in Pacific Mall. I’ve also seen this product retail for $26 at Holika Holika, but I’m not certain if it’s the bigger version or not.

Overall: 4/5 

It’s pretty difficult to find a BB cream that provides a matte finish, but this one does the job! If you moisturise sufficiently before application and work quickly in sheer layers, the finish is actually pretty nice. Although if you have dry skin like me, I wouldn’t suggest picking up this product. There are many BB creams that perform better for dry skin, as this one tends to accentuate dry patches. This BB cream is definitely more of a summer base than a winter one. However, this BB cream is probably great for people with oilier skin.

Have you guys ever used this? How did you find it? 

Until next time!

-Internetheartsbeauty

Disclaimer: I am not sponsored to do this review.

2 thoughts on “Review: Holika Holika Petit Jelly BB Cream SPF20 PA++

  1. Hello!
    I picked up this BB cream too after my absolute favourite BB, the Skinfood Red Orange Jelly BB, was discontinued. Truth be told, I was a little disappointed. I have combo acne-prone skin, so this BB clung to my dry spots and didn’t give me the coverage I wanted for my red spots. BUT, I haven’t given up on it yet, I’m hoping it’ll do me some good when I get oilier in the summer months.
    Thanks for the review! It’s so interesting to see how products that I actually own work on other people!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for reading and for adding in your experience too! Ya, it’s too bad that it didn’t work out so well for us this season. I’m pretty sure that it will work out for us much better in the summer!

    Good luck on finding a good BB cream! Maybe try checking out ‘Etude House Blooming Fit’. I quite liked that one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

