Review: Lush Celestial Facial Moisturizer

Adding a serum to my skincare routine was clearly not enough to hydrate my dry skin in the winter, so I went on search for a cream instead. Since my friends were going to Lush (which is cruelty-free, by the way) to pick up bath bombs, I figured, “Meh, why not.” I’m usually very reluctant to try out Lush’s facial products since I have sensitive and acne-prone skin. It’s usually funky plant extracts that irritate it. But that day, I picked up the Celestial Facial Moisturizer which is a cream formulated for sensitive skin.

Update: not appropriate for eczema on face due to addition of fragrance and preservatives in this product.

So here’s my review~

IMG_20150310_091229411_HDR

Formula: Hydrating; Almond Milk and Vanilla Scent; Basic, No-Frills Moisturizer; More Natural Ingredients

IMG_20150310_091351377

This almond milk moisturizer is a basic, no-frills cream that is intended to hydrate your skin and do just that. No SPF. No anti-aging. No pore refining. Considering how many of the users have sensitive skin, these properties don’t matter as much as they might irritate the skin. However, if you do have VERY sensitive or acne-prone skin, I would not recommend this cream as it may be too rich for your skin and cause breakouts.

What I like about this moisturizer compared to others is that it contains more natural than synthetic ingredients. Although Lush prides itself on being a natural brand, they still use preservatives in their products. In the Celestial moisturizer that would be parabens and triethanolamine, with the latter being more of a bad guy. If you’re totally opposed to using products with chemicals in it, I would suggest taking a look at organic brands instead. πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

IMG_20150310_091245686

How I use it to avoid breakouts:

  • only at night
  • only a sheer layer (3 dabs is good enough)
  • concentrate it more on drier areas
  • I do not use it under my makeup.

Packaging: 45g/ 1.6oz for $28 CAD (after tax)

IMG_20150310_091322862

It doesn’t seem like a lot of product for the price, but a little goes a long way. As for the physical packaging, it comes in a 100% recycled plastic jar. It also says that if you bring back 5 clean pots to the store, you’ll get a fresh face mask for free. πŸ™‚ Thumbs up for reducing waste!

Overall: 4/5

I didn’t give it a 5/5 because of that impending fear that we all have of breaking out from it. Other than that, I personally love it as it suits me well. It cleared up that dry patch on my face and smells so nice! The fact that Lush’s products contain fewer chemicals and are cruelty-free make me love it more.

What Lush products would you personally recommend? πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading,

Internetheartsbeauty

3 thoughts on “Review: Lush Celestial Facial Moisturizer

Leave a Reply

