Sensitive Skincare Routine and Products for Spring

Hello everyone,

Have seasonal allergies got your skin flaring up and irritated? It certainly has for me and for these past few weeks, I’ve been laying low with trying out new products. I’ve gone back to the tried and true ’cause sometimes, simplicity really is the best.

So for the spring, I had to simplify my skincare routine and go back to products that are gentle and meant for sensitive skin. Hopefully these daily routines and their recommendations can help you out if you have sensitive and/or acne-prone skin.

IMG_20150520_120550565_HDR

My skin type(s) : 

Winter: Dry- Combination, Sensitive, Acne-Prone

Spring and Summer: Oily – Combination, Sensitive, Acne-Prone

^Trust me, I wish I was making these up.

 

Daily Morning Routine

Cleanse- Gentle and fragrance-free cleanser
Recommendation:
 La Roche Posay Toleriane Dermo-Cleanser 
It’s a really gentle cleanser that’s appropriate for mornings. It helps me get rid of grime and dry skin. You wouldn’t get any breakouts from this because there are only a few ingredients. If you have extremely oily skin,  you can use a muslin cloth to gently rinse off residue. I’ve also heard from others that this cleanser is gentler than Cetaphil and Cerave.

Moisturize- Lightweight lotion
Recommendations: Tony Moly Dear Me Waterful Lotion/ Cerave Moisturizing Lotion/ Cerave Baby Moisturizing Lotion
The Tony Moly lotion is super lightweight and sinks into the skin almost immediately. I’ve also been trying out Cerave’s Moisturizing Lotion, which has also been working out for me. For something with an even more elegant texture in Cerave’s line, try the Baby Moisturizing Lotion. I haven’t tried it myself, but it has really good reviews.

Moisturize- Cream
Use a cream to apply ONLY on your dry patches. I currently use Lush Celestial Facial Moisturizer. However, I can’t recommend it to people with extremely sensitive skin as it has been known to break them out.

SPF: Lightweight Sunscreen
Recommendations: Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence Sunscreen/ La Roche Posay Anthelios
I separated SPF from “moisturize” because you don’t need SPF if you’re going to be indoors all day. Especially for sensitive skin folks, SPF can break us out. I also don’t have super-sensitive skin, so the Biore works out for me. However if you do, I’d suggest for you to try out sunscreens from La Roche Posay. My aunt who has extremely sensitive skin hasn’t experienced a reaction from them. 🙂

 

Daily Nighttime Routine

Makeup Removal : Micellar Cleansing Water
If you check out your drugstore, you’ll find a whole bunch of them on the shelves. I find them all pretty much the same so just pick up the one that’s on sale… and fragrance-free.  😉

Cleanse: Gel Cleanser for oily skin ; Milk Cleanser for dry skin
Recommendations:
SkinMedica Facial Cleanser; Avene Cleanance; La Roche Posay Dermo-Cleanser; Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser
I’m currently using SkinMedica Facial Cleanser, as it was a gift from my aunt. I wouldn’t usually shell out this much for a gel cleanser as I feel like you can find a good quality one from the drugstore. I’ve heard that Avene Cleanance is a good one for oily and sensitive skin. If you have dry skin, you can continue with La Roche Posay Dermo-Cleanser or use Cetaphil’s Gentle Skin Cleanser.

[Optional] Tone- Thermal water mist
Recommendation: Avene Thermal Spring Water
Not a necessary step unless your tap water is hard. I currently am not using a toner in the mornings.

Exfoliate weekly: Peeling Gel
Recommendation: Cure Aqua Gel
Has anyone ever used Cure Aqua Gel??? It gets such rave reviews for gently exfoliating dry skin. I used something similar before, but I’m not willing to shell out more bucks until my current one finishes. It’s around $50 USD!

Serum/ Oil/ Essence: I’m sorry, but this one is based on trial and error. 
It’s really hard to recommend a good serum because everyone’s skin reacts so differently to each one. Maybe even a serum or oil would be too rich for your skin during the warmer seasons, so you’ll have to turn to an essence. This step will have to be based on knowing what works and what doesn’t work for your skin. As for me, I’m currently using a vitamin c serum every other day.

Moisturize: Return to your morning moisturizers. 
For us sensitive skin folks, it’s not a good idea to keep switching our products around. It’s better to return back to our morning moisturizers (lightweight moisturizer and cream).

 

Phew! So these are my current springtime routines blended in with some recommendations! Of course, modify according to your skin because all of us are different. 🙂  I hope your skin feels better soon!

-Internetheartsbeauty

11 thoughts on “Sensitive Skincare Routine and Products for Spring

  1. I haven’t tried Micellar water to remover my make up yet. I’ve always used water and face wash or oil for the water proof/long lasting make up. I will have to go to the shops and try.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oil is great, especially in the winter, but my usual Extra Virgin Olive Oil hasn’t been working out during the warmer seasons. Hope you find a good micellar water! Let us know in your blog what you think of it when you try it out. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you mentioned CeraVe because I can not sing their praises or recommend the line enough (with the exception of the AM lotion though, that wasn’t too awesome for me)
    Great post! We seem to have similar skin, except I’m not so sensitive. Lucky me ^^;

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

