Review: Lorna Vanderhaeghe Celadrin Super Rich Therapy Cream

Eczema led me to take a long hiatus from this blog, but today I’m sharing with you a product I’ve been using along with prescription cream to FINALLY heal those dang dry patches.

As many of you may know, steroid creams (prescription) can really help with that itch but they can also thin out your skin. To protect your skin, you need to make sure to moisturise with emollients. My friend works at a natural health food store and recommended Lorna Vanderhaeghe’s Celadrin Super Rich Therapy Cream. Boy, am I glad she recommended it to me.

IMG_20150924_104736044

 

Formula: Rich, Hydrating, Paraben-free, Mostly natural ingredients, Minty herbal scent, Soothes inflammation, Works as an eye cream too

IMG_20150924_104851690IMG_20150924_104907231

Because this product is mostly natural and is paraben-free, it is really gentle on the skin – especially if you have skin conditions like eczema, psoriasis, or rosacea. It’s the Celadrin, vitamin E, and oils that help to reduce inflammation. Even if you don’t have any skin conditions, this cream is gentle enough on normal to dry skin. In fact, I also use it as an eye cream. The menthol in the Celadrin feels really cooling on the eyelids. Moreover, because it is so rich, you only a tiny pump of product. A little goes a long way.

As for the scent, I usually stay away from frangranced/scented products. However, I didn’t find the scent to irritate my skin. It seems to occur naturally from some of the essential oils. If anything, I kind of enjoyed the lightweight, minty, and herbal scent. However, if you’re extremely sensitive to fragrance/scent, this is something to keep an eye out for.

 

Ingredients: Contains lavender (irritant)

IMG_20150924_105002083_HDR

 

How I used it to protect and hydrate skin:

I finally went to the doctors to get a prescription cream for eczema, and he prescribed me with Desonide 0.05%. It’s an ointment with a vaseline texture meant for the face. Since thinning of the skin is a possible side effect, I applied the Celadrin cream first as a base and then followed up with a thin layer of Desonide on top. I did this once or twice a day – no more than that. My dry patches healed within a week. Before using Desonide, I still used Celadrin. It helped to soothe inflammation but it didn’t completely completely heal it.

 

Packaging and Price:

IMG_20150924_113056818_HDR

Around $25-29 CAD depending on your health food retailer for 50mL of product. Not a bad price considering how little product you’d use each time. Not to mention, (a huge bonus) it comes in a pump bottle! This is great because it preserves the natural ingredients by closing the product off from air exposure.

Available in Nutrition House and HealthyPlanetCanada.com (latter on sale for $18).

 

Overall: 4.5/5

It doesn’t irritate my hyper sensitive skin, and it hydrates super dry skin. The only thing is that it’s not right for oily skin, but then again, it wasn’t made for oily skin. Another thing to keep in mind is whether or not you’re allergic to lavender, as it is a potential irritant for some people. Personally for me, this was really helpful in finally healing my skin. I was struggling with these dry patches for half a year already!

So far I’m really enjoying this change from conventional to more natural skincare. What’s your experience with natural or organic skincare?

Thanks for reading,
Internetheartsbeauty

Leave a Reply

