Customizable and Natural Exfoliant: Rice Flour

If you’re into skincare, then you probably know by now that exfoliating once a week is important for keeping our skin smooth and for keeping acne at bay. However, after learning about the negative effects of plastic micro-beads on our ecosystem, we are all on the search for a safer alternative. So I decided to try adding rice flour into my skincare routine! It was such a simple change for me because rice flour can be easily found in the baking section of the supermarket. Not to mention, you can customize your skincare by adding as much or as little rice flour as you want. You even have the choice of adding it into your favourite cleanser! Keep reading to find out how I use it.

IMG_20151016_190117125
I bought Bob’s Red Mill White Rice Flour at No Frills for $3-4 CAD. Not sponsored by Bob’s Red Mill.


IMG_20151016_182718667

I personally feel that rice flour is gentler on my skin because it’s finely milled, and I can control how much flour I add into my cleanser. It also exfoliates just as well as micro-beads, and keeps my conscience guilt-free.

Rice flour as an exfoliating face wash

-Choose your favourite gentle cleanser (foaming and milk cleansers work best)!
(Recommendations: Milk Cleanser- La Roche Posay Toleriane Dermo-Cleanser; Foaming Cleanser- Clinique Rinse-Off Foaming Cleanser)

-Squeeze out quarter sized amount of cleanser into your palm, and mix in a dash or two of rice flour. Add more depending on preference.

-Apply mixture onto damp face and gently scrub using only 1-2 fingers

-Rinse

Rice flour as brightening face mask

-Mix rice flour and honey to form a face mask

-Wait 10 minutes

-Pat water on face, gently scrub and rinse off

Results:

My face feels just as smooth as when using a conventional exfoliating cleanser! My skin also doesn’t feel irritated from all the tugging and scratching of a cloth or micro-beads. Also, it saves me the trouble of finding an exfoliating wash made for sensitive skin because I already own hypoallergenic cleansers but I’m just adding rice flour into them.

Let me know if you’ve ever tried anything similar with another natural ingredient! In fact, let me know if you plan on trying out rice flour!

Thanks for reading,

InternetHeartsBeauty

2 thoughts on “Customizable and Natural Exfoliant: Rice Flour

Leave a Reply

