Learning to Trust Your Guts

Hi everyone,

I hope you’re all doing well! It’s been more than 2 weeks since I’ve uploaded a beauty post. Once I get everything back on track, it’ll be back to more product trials! These past 6 months have been a mental whirlwind for me with job hunting (and hopping), developing my self-confidence, and figuring out what’s right for me. I feel like one of the greatest things that I’ve learnt within these past 6 months was learning to trust my guts (aka instincts). They’re there for a reason. If you get a bad feeling about someone or something especially on a first impressions basis, TURN AWAY. If not, there will be consequences and you could be compromising your safety.

Because I really wanted to try something new, outside of the industry that I’ve been working in for awhile, I ended up taking a part-time cash job at some auto lighting shop. On day 1,  I immediately got a bad feeling about the boss when he started smoking right in front of my friend and I in the retail space. To make it worse, he said he had wanted to look for a girl to do front desk and cash because “Girls are cleaner and more trustworthy. Since we’re a bunch of guys, we’re messy.” Basically, they wanted me to be their mom. I accepted the job anyway so that I could pay my bills and develop some customer service skills. I thought I could deal with this. As long as I completed my tasks, everything would be fine, right? This was when I should’ve listened to my instincts.

At this point, the job description was just open the store, clean, pick up calls, help customers, and make invoices. After actually doing the job, the actual description should have been clean the store, receive calls, make warm and cold calls, make sales, post ads, manage social media, manage inventory, and complete purchase transactions. Since 90% of the time, I was alone in store, I was basically running their business for $10 cash/hour. Not to mention, being alone in a shop…in an industrial area…was probably not the greatest idea. To make it worse, they forgot to lock the store the night before I opened shop.

So you probably know where all this is going. I lacked the auto knowledge to sufficiently assist customers and make sales. When I asked my boss questions about products/procedures, the answer that I got most frequently was, “Improvise. The products are crappy anyway, so it doesn’t matter.” The disorganization of my training and the procedures led me to perform poorer than I usually do. Not to mention, I got called a “little girl with no job experience”  and that I was “wasting their time” when I didn’t meet up to their ambiguous expectations. I stayed one week too long at that store. I’ve lost a lot of time and I even risked my own safety for it. Who knows if I’ll even be paid for the work that I did.

The lesson here is…you have got to trust your instincts, even when job hunting. No matter how desperate you are for the job and money, you might lose it all if you don’t trust that it’s not working out for you. I should have known from day one that it wasn’t going to work out for me, but I ignored the signs day after day. It ended up being a shady business that I will never add to my resume… At the same time, I’m thankful for this experience. It was the final catalyst after all this job hunting that made me realize that teaching, tutoring, and humanitarian work are the most suitable for me. 🙂

 

Finally, here are some tips that I’ve learnt from my job hunting experiences. I hope you find them useful:

  1. Don’t take cash jobs. It’s shady, and they’re probably doing something else behind the scenes too.  Since it’s cash, there’s also no real record of you ever working there. So if you’re looking for your missing paystub, it might not be there.
  2. When your co-workers are mistreating you (ie. insulting/racism/sexism/harassment .etc.), you should get out.
  3. When you can afford to, it’s okay to switch jobs. It doesn’t mean you’re being disloyal to the company. It means “you’re worth it”.
  4. If you’re stuck in a job search rut, consider upgrading your education. Not only will that make you more marketable but you’ll be learning a lot yourself. 😉
  5. Volunteer with non-profits/community centres/hospitals to get job experience! Not only will you be helping out the community, but you’ll gain a lot of interpersonal skills and other skill sets for related jobs. It’ll also give you a chance to discover different fields of interest to see whether they’re suitable for you or not.
    ie. receptionist at a community centre; assistant at a seniors’ home; page at the library
  6. Take up blogging to communicate with like-minded people and develop tech-savvy skills! ❤
  7. Talk to your friends to see if they know about any available positions!
  8. Book an appointment at an employment centre, so you can have more access to postings and career counselling appointments. It’s okay for you to use these services. There’s no shame in it. Companies are increasingly using staffing solutions anyway because it’s cheaper and more efficient for them. A lot of these centres are also supported by the government, so the service is free.
  9. And lastly, unemployment is temporary and you’re not alone. You will have your opportunity. Just keep looking in the right places, keep reaching out for it, and stay open-minded.

 

We can do this! Good luck!

And thanks for reading,

InternetHeartsBeauty

8 thoughts on “Learning to Trust Your Guts

  1. This is so true! I absolutely hated my first job but I stuck through with it because I needed the money. Eventually I couldn’t take it anymore so I just quit. Right now I’m in college so 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I should of trusted my gut too. I was previous working for a potential supervisor for my studies. She said she wanted to see how I worked before giving me a scholarship. She overworked me to the point I finished all my hours in my contract and was working for free for over a month. Then she tells me she doesn’t have the money to give me a scholarship! She dragged it out and renewed my contract twice before I got fed up and asked when i would start my studies. Still holding this grudge to this day!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t want to cause trouble in case it impacted on me with my future work. Plus we were bound to meet each other and I didn’t want it anymore awkward then it is (p.s she fully snobbed me anyway when she saw me). Oh well. This is how lessons are learnt

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! I’m sorry you had a shit experience but I’m so pleased you’ve taken the positives from it! We’ve all ignored our better judgement when all our instincts are screaming otherwise – guess it’s human nature lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

