Review: Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel

Closer to the warmer seasons, I was looking for a fragrance-free and lightweight moisturizer that could sink into the skin quickly with no oiliness left behind. After around 3+ months of usage, here’s my take on Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel!

IMG_20160218_184445737
The photo above isn’t to its true colour. It’s actually more pastel yellow in person.

Performance: Absorbs quickly ; Leaves no oiliness ; Lightweight ; No added fragrance ; Added colour

This gel gives my skin quick moisture and a matte finish before makeup application. However, I don’t rely on this as my sole moisturizer in my skincare routine. My skin needs a bit more than that. If you’re the type of person who wants to strictly stick to a 3 step routine (clean, tone, moisturize), then this would be great if your skin is more oily throughout. People with more combination skin may need a cream for the dry patches. So for that reason, I’m saving this up for those summer months when my skin gets super oily!

IMG_20160218_182554927

IMG_20160218_182621879

IMG_20160218_182642106

Ingredients:

Depending on how sensitive your skin is, this gel may or may not work for you. It doesn’t contain any added fragrance, but while applying, you will notice a light fragrance which seems to be occurring naturally from certain ingredients (cucumber, sunflower, chamomile). Clinique’s DDM line also contains food colouring/dye, so if you have extremely sensitive skin that is also something to be aware of. To be honest, I’m not sure why they decided to dye their lotion. Does it come out brown or something? O.O  Who knows, maybe it’s for branding purposes…

IMG_20160218_183351011

 

Packaging and Pricing

You can choose to start out with the tube of 50mL (1.7 oz) for $18 CAD. So far I haven’t seen them on display in department stores, but you can find them at Sephora. The mini versions come in plastic yellow squeeze tubes.

You can also buy the full size version, which comes in a 124mL (4.2oz) pump bottle for $32 CAD.

 

My personal overall rating: 4/5

Clinique DDM Gel is marketed as a last step moisturizer in their 3 step routine for oily-combination to oily skin. In my opinion, however, I find that this would work better as a first step moisturizer for oily-combo skin. It’s just not enough moisture otherwise. For oily skin though, I think it might be a great last-step moisturizer because it sinks quickly into the skin without clogging pores.

When my current tube runs out, I’ll definitely repurchase the full-size one for the summer.

 

Have you tried any other gel-cremes or gel moisturizers that you would love to recommend?

 

Thanks for reading,

InternetHeartsBeauty

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel

Leave a Reply

