Review: CosRx Advanced Snail 92 All in One Cream

I guess I’ve finally succumbed to the marketing of the Korean cosmetics industry ’cause I ended up scouring the net, high and low, for an unfragranced snail cream. Many of you may already know that it’s difficult to find unfragranced skincare from the Asian market in the first place. But I found one! 😀

IMG_20160204_145417253

CosRx Advanced Snail 92 claims to consist of 92% snail mucin, which helps heal damaged skin and provide a barrier of moisture. The idea of using snail mucin came from how snails are able to heal and protect themselves from their own slime. Again, like I’ve said a million times, I was trying to heal and protect my skin from eczema over the past year. Thanks to this product, I was able to keep the dry patches away for the most part.

 

Performance:

  • Fast absorbing
  • Light texture
  • Suitable for dry to normal skin 
  • Overly rich for normal to oily skin
  • Tacky (sticky) finish
  • No fragrance
That gooeyness...
That gooeyness…

During the winter, my skin got crazy dry. This snail cream is lightweight enough that it absorbs quickly into the skin, while still providing an ample amount of moisture. Depending on your skin type though, you may find that you’ll need to apply a richer cream (like Celadrin) on top of dry patches. However, I still wouldn’t recommend this for folks with normal to oily skin. I found that it congested my enlarged pores on my t-zone, cheeks, and forehead. Maybe it was the sticky finish that was simply too rich for my oily-combination skin.

 

Ingredients:

Snail Secretion Filtrate, Betaine, Caprylic, Cetearyl Olivate, Sodium Hyalauronate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, Arginine, Dimethicone, Carbomer, Panthenol, Allantoin, Sodium Polyacrylate, Xanthan Gum, Ethyl Hexanediol, Adenosine, Phenoxyethanol

 

Packaging: 100mL of product for $30+ CAD

IMG_20160204_145432388_HDR

The packaging is usually “whatever” to me, but this is one product that I wish came in a pump. Maybe they wanted customers to really witness and experience the gooeyness of the cream to show that they actually did use a high percentage of snail mucin. But I do have to say that the slippery texture of the cream made it difficult to scoop up- even with a spatula, haha. As for the price, it really varies depending on what site you go on. I got it from Amazon for $30 CAD.

 

Overall: 4/5

Although CosRx’s snail cream isn’t entirely appropriate for my skin type, it does deserve a 4/5 rating in my opinion. It contains a high amount of snail mucin in contrast to their competitors. It also contains no fragrance, no parabens, nor dyes so it’s user friendly for those with sensitive skin. The cream also absorbed well into my skin to prevent dry patches. However, if you have oilier skin, this may not be the right product for you. I ended up saving the rest of mine for the colder seasons.

 

Have you ever tried any snail products? If so, what were they?

 

Thanks for reading,

InternetHeartsBeauty

3 thoughts on “Review: CosRx Advanced Snail 92 All in One Cream

Leave a Reply

