Fresh Rose Floral Toner vs Heritage Rosewater & Glycerin

Hi guys!

This post is going to be a battle of the rosewater toners: Fresh Rose Floral Toner vs Heritage Rosewater & Glycerin. One is priced at $47 CAD ($53.11 after tax) at Sephora and the latter at $13 CAD ($14.69) in local health food stores.

Below are brief reviews of my personal experience and personal opinion.

PicMonkey Collage

 

Fresh Rose Floral Toner 

In my opinion (again, in my opinion), this seems to me like an expensive rose water. I have to admit that I didn’t do any research before purchasing this toner, so it was an impulse purchase from Sephora. I tried to give it benefit of the doubt and tested it out for a week before ultimately deciding to return it. Although it smelled great, imparted a fine mist, and made me feel luxurious, it didn’t do much for my skin. It lightly hydrated my skin but also irritated it. I’m not too certain what caused the itchiness. Perhaps it was the high amount of fragrance, despite being naturally occurring.

 

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Rosa Damascena Flower Water, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Sodium Citrate, Citric Acid, Citronellol, Geraniol, Phenoxyethanol

 

Pros:

-light hydration for normal to dry skin that’s not sensitive to fragrance

-luxurious and fine mist

 

Cons:

-scent of fragrance is quite strong

-mad expensive for rosewater ($53 CAD after tax)

-amount of fragrance can cause irritation

-for the price, I’d expect more skin benefits than just hydration

 

Personal Rating: 2/5

 

Heritage Store Rosewater & Glycerin

After returning the Fresh Toner, I got the Heritage Store one from the local health food store instead. The scent of this one is much subtler and it didn’t irritate my skin. For those with oily skin though, it’s better to go with their regular rosewater version as the glycerin in this one made my face shiny throughout the day. I will be keeping it for the colder seasons, when my skin becomes drier. However, those with dry skin will enjoy the extra hydration. Sometimes, I still use it in the summer when I’m too lazy to put on lotion.

One thing I find hilarious though is this:

IMG_20160807_203733285

I’ll just leave it at that.

 

Pros: 

-decently priced rosewater

-contains glycerin for extra hydration

-scent isn’t too strong

 

Cons:

-have to change spray nozzle/bottle

-not appropriate for oily skin

 

Personal Rating: 4/5

Overall:

From my overall experience, I’d say that rosewater toners don’t seem to make a real difference in my skincare routine. I guess it’s more of a luxurious addition. But on lazy days, it does help to keep the skin temporarily moist and fresh. My personal experience with the high-end Fresh toner wasn’t that great because of the high amounts of fragrance from the rosewater and chamomile oil. If you’re not sensitive to fragrance, then the Fresh toner would be a nice luxurious experience… but it does come with a hefty price tag for its simple formulation. Heritage Rosewater / Rosewater & Glycerin are more affordable alternatives and gentler on sensitive skin. You may have to change the bottle though because the spray nozzle sucks, but that’s a minor fix. The Heritage toner wins hands down in this round!

So that’s that! I hope these mini reviews helped to provide some insight into rosewater. Perhaps some of you enjoyed Fresh Rose Floral Toner? Feel free to give your feedback in the comments below!

 

Thanks for reading,

InternetHeartsBeauty

3 thoughts on “Fresh Rose Floral Toner vs Heritage Rosewater & Glycerin

Leave a Reply

