Review: NYX Vivid Brights Liquid Eyeliner

Makeup lovers, you know that feeling you get when you want to try something new, different, and possibly colourful? ❤ Well, that’s how I felt when I was randomly in the mood for a dark blue eyeliner. I figured that it’d be a good starting point for something more exciting than your typical black eyeliner without being too crazy. From there, I decided to set out on the hunt for an affordable, long-lasting, liquid blue eyeliner!

I’m not sure if it was just me, but I found it a bit difficult to find a nice liquid blue eyeliner at the drugstore. Thank goodness, NYX (with their vast array of colours) had just launched their line in the Canadian drugstore chain, Shoppers Drug Mart.

img_20161008_150519264_hdr

 

Performance: 

  • Pigmented Cobalt Blue
  • Matte finish
  • Dry
  • Doesn’t last on oily eyelidsimg_20161008_150633901

Let me tell you; I LOVE this colour. It’s bright and pigmented enough to be something edgy. The only downfall (sorry to break it to you so early on) is that it pulled on my eyelids after drying. It had an overly drying feeling that made my eyelids feel tight, so from time to time, I would have trouble fully opening my eyes. It’s actually kind of strange; even though it’s a dry formula, it doesn’t last too long on oily eyelids. I find that as long as you apply a thin layer, it won’t feel as drying and will last longer throughout the day.

 

Ingredients:

Water/Aqua/Eau, Acrylates/Octylacrylamide Copolymer, Propylene Glycol, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Aminomethyl Propanol, Xanthan Gum, Triethyl Citrate, Triethylhexyl Trimellitate, Ethyl Lactate, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol. MAY CONTAIN / PEUT CONTENIR (+/-): Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Carmine (CI 75470), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288), Ultramarines (CI 77007).

 

Packaging: Smooth fine-tip liner

img_20161008_150548373

 

 

Overall: 3/5

The colour and payoff are awesome. I like to wear it on occasions where I’m not going somewhere for too long. Depending on your skin and eye type, you may prefer this type of formula. For me though, it’s a bit too dry even on my oily eyelids.

If you know of any really good blue eyeliners, let me know! 😀

 

Thanks for reading,

InternetHeartsBeauty

2 thoughts on “Review: NYX Vivid Brights Liquid Eyeliner

Leave a Reply

