Hits & Misses

Hi all,

How’s your summer starting off so far? We were enjoying mild temperatures just last week, and suddenly got hit with 30 degrees celcius heat. Bleh! Thank goodness I have a day off from work, so I can avoid stiff workwear in this muggy heat… It also means that I finally get a chance to blog!

Over the past few months, I got the chance to test out some products and some were hits while others were a miss.

Hits!

Sana Pore Putty BB Mineral Powder

Sana Pore Putty BB Mineral Powder is a great powder foundation when applied lightly. I was able to wear this by itself or on top of liquid foundation. It provided light coverage while decently covering pores. Unfortunately it’s geared more towards people of lighter skin with yellow undertones (light and natural). 😦 If you want larger variety of shades, I’d definitely recommend Make Up Forever’s Duo Mat Powder Foundation; it’s my all time favourite!

Cost: Approx. $30CAD in Asian cosmetic stores; $13 CAD in Japan >.<

 

Loreal Voluminous Original Mascara in Cobalt Blue; Mineral Fusion Pressed Base Foundation in Warm 2

Loreal Voluminous Original Mascara in Cobalt Blue is a great way to add some thickness, length, AND colour into your lashes. It gives a subtle hint of colour when you’re feeling a bit more adventurous. I’m thinking that the blue would show up more vibrantly on those with blonde eyelashes.

Mineral Fusion Pressed Base Foundation is a great alternative to conventional foundation. I actually got it at Whole Foods in the organic/natural makeup section, and let me tell you, this was a god-send when my skin was ravaging with eczema! My skin couldn’t take anymore of my usual foundations and powders, so I was so happy to find this. It provided light coverage to even the skin tone and it did not irritate my skin. Switching to a natural powder really gave my skin some time to heal during the winter. Now that my eczema has healed, I haven’t used this in the summer because it seems more of a hydrating powder. If you have dry skin, you could very well use this all year round! If you have more oily skin, don’t expect this to keep shine/oil at bay as it’s more focused on providing natural and silky coverage. Bonus: I even love the packaging. The compact is so thin and lightweight!

Ingredients: Mica, Lauroyl Lysine, Zinc Stearate, Capric Triglyceride, Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide, Boron Nitride, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Hydrolyzed Mango Juice Extract, Hydrolyzed Garcina Mangostana Extract, Camellia Sinensis, Alaria Esculenta Aspalathus Linearis, Licorice Root Extract, Punica Granatum, Aloe Barbadensis, Cucumber Fruit Extract, Tocopherol Acetate, Sambucus Nigra, Phenoxyethanol (preservative- If you’re eczema prone, make sure this doesn’t irritate your skin.)

 

Misses 😦 

black Up Perfect Matifying Primer; Missha Super Aqua Pore Correcting Black Head Melting Oil Gel

 

black Up Perfect Matifying Primer felt like an expensive silicone primer ($50 CAD to be exact). It minimally blurred pores and somewhat helped to matify ALREADY oily skin. It didn’t help with keep the face matte throughout the day though. I found my t-zone to be really oily after 3-4 hours. Some people loved this, but unfortunately, it didn’t work for me. Not to mention, it smelled strongly of chemicals.

Ingredients: Cyclopentasiloxane, Propylene Glycol, Water, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, PEG 18, Dimethicone, Silica, Magnesium Sulfate, Butylene Glycol, Enantia Chloranthia Bark Extract, Oleanolic Acid, PPG-3 Myristl Ether, Phenoxyethanol, Chlophenesin

 

Missha Blackhead Melting Oil Gel was crazy popular amongst Asian beauty bloggers and vloggers alike for being effective, different, and gentle with blackhead removal…but I just don’t get the hype. It didn’t work for me nor my sister. I would massage the gel on my nose for 2-3min and let it sit, then wipe the gel off with a warm damp cloth. I didn’t notice a decrease in sebum/blackheads! This was a real disappointment since I purposely drove to the nearest Missha in the middle of a winter night just to try this out.

Anna Sui Rose Cheek Color in 100

 

Anna Sui’s Rose Cheek Color in 100 was by far the biggest disappointment! I was so excited to try out a lavender highlighter but it barely shows up on the skin – my skin is pale by the way! Sorry for being dramatic, but this seemed like something so creative and innovative considering the packaging, design, and colour. The actual pigmentation and quality of the product just didn’t match up to the look and price of it. And considering the fantastic quality of highlighters these days, Anna Sui should consider reformulating this product to create a silkier and more pigmented shimmer.

 

So yes, those are my personal hits and misses! Did you find any of these misses to be a hit for you? And if you have any product recommendations, please do let me know! I’m always willing to try something new. 🙂

 

Have a great summer,

InternetHeartsBeauty

Leave a Reply

